Main
District Activity Calendar
RED Alert
Board Agenda & Minutes
Current Weather
Current Conditions:
Fair, 76 F

Forecast:
Mon - Mostly Clear. High: 92 Low: 70
Tue - Mostly Sunny. High: 98 Low: 74
Wed - Isolated Thunderstorms. High: 92 Low: 68
Thu - Partly Cloudy. High: 86 Low: 67
Fri - Partly Cloudy. High: 94 Low: 74

Full Forecast at Yahoo! Weather

(provided by The Weather Channel)
Contact Information
USD 247
506 S. Smelter
Cherokee, Kansas 66724
Phone: 620-457-8350
Fax: 620-457-8428
Home
 

Enrollment Schedule

USD 247 enrollment is scheduled for the following dates at each school, Southeast Elementary School (PreK-4th) in Weir, Kansas, and Southeast Junior High School (5th-8th) and Southeast High School in Cherokee.

Tuesday August 5:  8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Wednesday August 6:  8 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Thursday August 7:  11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

An enrollment day will also be held at the McCune building on Thursday August 7 from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

- - -

Southeast Elementary Supply List

Investing In Your Child's Future

With a passion for its students and a willingness to try new things USD 247 Southeast is inspiring the students who proudly call themselves Lancers.

Get a head start on college

Graduate high school with a college sophomore standing at no extra cost.  Dual credit college courses are available for Southeast High School students and families are reimbursed 100% for their tuition if the student earns an A or B.

To prepare our younger students, several high school courses are now offered at the junior high level.

Learn more about dual credit college courses

K-12 STEM

Since the Fall of 2012, USD 247 has provided a K-12 Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) program, believed to be the first in the state of Kansas.  Our students work with PITSCO STEM Labs and project kits, Mindstorm Robotics and Tetrix Robotics.  PK-3rd also enjoy LEGO education project based learning.  K-12 will begin Engineering by Design this fall.

A Real World Education

Career Technical Education programs available through USD 247 preparing students for the workforce:

 

Opportunities to Participate

Students Receiving National Recognition

Lancer students go to and rank at the highest levels in national competitions by Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA), Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA), Future Farmers of America (FFA) and Technology Student Association (TSA).

Sports

Small class sizes provide students an opportunity to play the sports they love:  baseball, basketball, cross country, football, track & field, volleyball and now wrestling.

Civil Air Patrol

Not all students are interested in the traditional classes, clubs and sports.  To provide those students in 6th through 12th grades with another option USD 247 partnered with the U.S. Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol (CAP) in 2011.  Southeast CAP cadets and students get to pilot and ground marshal powered aircraft and gliders.  Southeast CAP has also assisted with storm recovery during the aftermath of the May 2011 tornado in Joplin, Missouri, Pittsburg, 2012, and in 2014 at Baxter Springs.

Learn more about CAP

District Office

506 S. Smelter

Cherokee, Kansas


Southeast High School

126 W 400 Hwy

Cherokee, Kansas  66724


Southeast Junior High

206 West Magnolia St

Cherokee, Kansas  66724


Southeast Elementary

303 S. Humbert St

Weir, Kansas 66781

 

 

Dr. Glenn Fortmayer - Superintendent  gfortmayer@usd247.com

620-457-8350  Phone

620-457-8428 Fax


Larry Malle - Principal   lmalle@usd247.com

620-457-8365 Phone

620-457-           Fax


Joe Martin - Principal   jlmartin@usd247.com

620-457-8315  Phone

620-457-           Fax


Tammie Hall - Principal     thall@usd247.com

620-396-8211  Phone

620-396-8160  Fax

Accountant/Board Clerk Bill Nott bnott@usd247.com
Treasurer/Secretary Rita Mitchell rmitchell@usd247.com
Technology Director Linda Solomon lindas@usd247.com
Food Service Director Rocky Davied rdavied@usd247.com
Transportation Director    
Maintenance Brent Imhoff bimhoff@usd247.com